Skip to content

The Nomination Committee’s proposal for the election of board members in BioArctic AB


Stockholm February 12, 2021 – BioArctic AB (publ) (Nasdaq Stockholm: BIOA B) hereby announces that the Nomination Committee for BioArctic AB (publ) presents the following proposals regarding the resolution on the number of board members and the election of board members at the annual general meeting on May 6, 2021. 

The Nomination Committee proposes that the board shall consist of eight members, without deputies.The Nomination Committee proposes that Wenche Rolfsen, Ivar Verner, Håkan Englund, Pär Gellerfors, Lars Lannfelt, Mikael Smedeby and Eugen Steiner be re-elected as board members and that Lotta Ljungqvist be elected as new board member, each for a term of office until the end of the next annual general meeting. Furthermore, the Nomination Committee proposes that Wenche Rolfsen be re-elected as chairperson of the board and that Ivar Verner be re-elected as deputy chairperson of the board.The board member Hans Ekelund has informed the Nomination Committee that he is not available for re-election.

Lotta Ljungqvist has a degree in biochemistry from the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) and a doctorate in biochemical engineering. Lotta has more than 30 years of experience in the life science industry, where she has had several leading roles including CEO, business area manager responsible for sales and business development, research manager and project manager for biopharma projects. During her career, Lotta Ljungqvist has held positions at GE Healthcare Life Sciences, Biovitrum and Pharmacia and is currently CEO of Testa Center, Cytiva (formerly GE Healthcare Life Sciences). Her broad experience, industry knowledge and significant network will provide the Board with additional valuable expertise. Lotta Ljungqvist also has experience from board assignments in both public and private companies in the life science sector. Lotta Ljungqvist is independent in relation to the company, the company’s management and its major shareholders.

Information on all proposed board members for BioArctic, the Nomination Committee’s rationale regarding the proposal for the election of board members and the Nomination Committee’s complete proposals to the annual general meeting will be available on the company’s website,, in connection with the issuance of the notice to attend the annual general meeting 2021, which is expected to be published around April 8, 2021.

The Nomination Committee has been appointed according to the principles adopted by the annual general meeting 2020 and consists of Gunnar Blix (chairperson), appointed by the Third Swedish National Pension Fund (sw: Tredje AP-fonden), Margareta Öhrvall, appointed by Demban AB and Claes Andersson, appointed by Ackelsta AB. The composition of the Nomination Committee was published on October 13, 2020 and has been made available on the company’s website. The members of the Nomination Committee have been appointed by shareholders who together represent approximately 63 percent of the shares and approximately 85 percent of the votes in the company. The chairperson of the board has been adjunct at the meetings of the Nomination Committee.

The Nomination Committee of BioArctic AB (publ)

This information was submitted for publication at 08:00 a.m. CET on February 12, 2021.

For further information, please contact:
Gunnar Blix, chairperson of the Nomination Committee, telephone + 46 (0) 8 555 17 173
Wenche Rolfsen, chairperson of the board, telephone +46 (0)73 331 91 56